The city that never sleeps

So now we’re faced with the planning phase.

I kind of want a bachelorette party, but had a hard time thinking of what to do. I’m not into bars, clubs or strippers.

I get Facebook invitations to some parties that look really fun in NYC. I was thinking that if one of those Bungalow 8 parties lands around the time we’re there, we’ll go. I will admit that I’ve only heard of Bungalow 8 via Sex and the City, but that’s enough for me.

Then today I was talking to Emily and saying that both of us would probably make the most awesome podcasts. She mentioned doing a beta version while I’m in town. Then I was thinking about how cool it would be to do with Syb too, so then an idea was born. Maybe my bachelorette party will be a podcast party. We are so nerdy. But I think it would be so much fun.

Next up, food. NYC has the most amazing vegan restaurants in the country. I definitely want to hit up:

Candle 79 (they have a separate gluten-free menu too!)

Blossom (Fiona Apple sat next to Emily and me last time we went!)

Pure Food and Wine (all gluten-free!!)

Lula’s (an amazing ice cream parlor!)

Stogos (another ice cream parlor)

Babycakes (gluten-free cupcakes, ya’ll)

Foodswings looks cool (it’s a fast food joint in… Brooklyn)

Angelica’s Kitchen (look like a place Steve would like. Gluten-free cornbread too)

These are  just some of the places. I’ll add to this once I know what other things we’ll be doing and which areas we’ll be near.

We need to come up with non-food things to do. We want to catch a Broadway or off-Broadway show, but that’s not cheap! Emily mentioned TKTS, which sells tickets for half price, but I think you have to get the tickets the day of the performance. I think we may end up doing that. I wanted to try going on a TV show, but I don’t think we would want to wait in line for half a day. We’ll have to check out some museums. Anyway, this part isn’t planned out very well, because someone *cough* *cough* isn’t into planning.

8 Responses to “The city that never sleeps”

  1. Emily Says:

    TKS – you wait in a long line the day of the performance. TIckets go on sale in the early pm, I believe…

  2. Jen Says:

    Wicked!! I want to see Wicked!!! What’s Bungalow 8? There’s some stuff I want to hit up while I’m there plus seeing my friend so I’m not sure I’ll do everything, but I’ll do some stuff plus your bachlorette (which you have to have!) and the wedding! I figure we had time in April.

  3. Syb Says:

    i like these ideas! and i’m very excited for may!!

  4. emily Says:

    All this food talk makes me hungry (as usual), dammit!

    A lot of the museums have free or pay what you can days. They get really busy then but it might be worth it. Also, I have a friend that works at MoMA but I dunno how many people she can get in for free. I can find out 🙂

  5. Becca Says:

    Em-That would be awesome, because I really want to go there! I remember in ’05 when we went and the line to get in was several blocks long on the free day, so we gave up and went to Guggenheim. But Guggenheim had that one photographer that I’d wanted to see forever, so it was kind of serendipity.

  6. Becca Says:

    Syb-I can’t wait to see you!

  7. Becca Says:

    Jen-Bungalow 8 is a club that seemed chic and trendy on Sex and the City. On the show, you needed some key to gain entrance. I feel like it also might have been a gay club on the show.
    Dude, 2 months in a row!

  8. emily Says:

    I got some (unsolicited) suggestions on other places to eat! These are both vegetarian, supposedly w/ vegan options. Just “food” for thought:

    HanGawi – korean vegetarian
    Red Bamboo – vegetarian soul food

Leave a Reply

